top of page

2023年是衰退年还是复苏年?

1月30日, 2023 | 6分钟阅读时长

2022 年对投资者来说是充满挑战的一年。去年,随着全球债券市场创下自1992年以来的最大跌幅(MSCI世界指数下跌20%),以及政府债券收益率达到多年高位(10年期美国国债收益率从1.6%升至4.3%),所有资产类别合计损失了30万亿美元,;非美元货币跌至40年低点;到 2022 年 10 月底,全球股票市场估计下跌 20% – 30%。 在这种两位数下跌的背景下,2023 年的最佳前景将是中国股票、全球债券和非美元外汇等许多资产类别的复苏年。然而,对于欧洲和美国来说,这仍然是经济衰退的一年。

 

在发生这么多事情的情况下,预计影响投资者决策的主要趋势是什么?为了帮助投资者更好地驾驭不断变化的财富格局,昇世整理了新一年值得注意的投资基本考量因素。

 

2023 年的七大投资考量因素

  1. 尽管各国央行竭尽全力,但通货膨胀和衰退是不可避免的

预计各国央行将继续加息以遏制通胀,导致财务状况的整体紧张,并影响各种资产类别,尤其是股票。

 

要点:

  • 在这个温和的冬季,欧洲地区比其他经济体更早重新开放,经济活动保持相对较好。再加上其液化气和对美国的能源补贴压低了能源价格,我们预计欧洲不会陷入深度衰退。

  • 美联储(FED)将继续加息,最终导致美国经济在2023年下半年陷入衰退。然而,随着通胀缓解迹象的出现,这个加息周期可能很快就会结束。

  • 2023 年上半年,投资者在关注中国重新开放对经济的影响时将谨慎对待中国市场。自 2022 年 10 月底以来,中国政府实施了各种政策变革,以振兴该国的 GDP 增长。一些积极成果包括中央银行、四大银行、资产管理公司和保险公司支持房地产债券保险;修订零新冠政策,有利于经济重新开放;以及引入更多刺激措施以保持通胀可控。

 

2. 供应链波动仍与疫情和地缘政治挑战挂钩

供应链的不确定性仍然令人担忧,因为全球大流行和地缘政治挑战不仅提高了大宗商品价格,而且还会波及各种问题,例如材料短缺和向世界各地的交付瓶颈。由于亚太地区内部贸易预计将在2033年上升,区域供应链中断也可能影响当地经济。

 

为了反映对石油的看涨观点,我们看好连接WTI原油期货的为期9个月的固定票息票据(FCN)。客户可以获得12%年利率的预期回报,以获得100%的行权价和60%的欧式敲入期权。客户还可以考虑连接中海油和西方石油公司的3个月固定票息票据,年利率为12%,行权价为81%。

 

3. 亚洲市场将审慎反弹

自 2022 年 11 月以来,中国等亚洲市场的上升势头优于其他市场,预计这种情况将持续到 2023 年。特别是,在2022年10月中国共产党第二十次全国代表大会上宣布的政策生效后,预计政府管理将更加稳定。我们认为香港股市有点过高,预计在2月和3月将迎来回调。

 

投资者可以对大盘股进行风险逆转交易(通过卖出看跌期权来买入看涨价差)。印度是另一个根据基本面进行配置的市场,但需要等待更好的入场时机。

 

4. 股市受到打击,但机会仍然存在

股市将反弹至 2023 年第一季度上半年,然后在收益疲软和美联储持续加息的背景下进行调整。我们更看跌美国股市,因为远期收益现在定价为不切实际的5%下跌。与之前的危机相比,这太少了,之前的危机下降了10%-20%。因此,我们预计在第二季度至第三季度的时间范围内将出现更大的调整。同样,一旦美联储决定停止加息,全球股市应该会表现更好,预计在 2023 年下半年左右。

 

自 2022 年 10 月底开始重估以来,大中华地区股市的处境较好。政策变化和更多刺激措施的出台将支持已经超卖的股市。最近房地产行业的政策举措对离岸市场来说可能为时已晚,但信心正在恢复,情绪正在改善。人民币和港元将保持强劲,预计更多资金将流向亚洲、欧洲和中东,所有这些都将支撑股市。

 

投资者应继续对冲下行风险,通过看跌价差或场外看跌/看涨期权来保护仓位,并设置障碍以降低期权价格。前两个季度有机会利用进入战术交易的优势,特别是在财报季节前后,进入现金流强劲的优质公司。能源、材料和金融公司,以及大型科技公司,看起来很有趣。

 

5. 固定收益在高等级短期债券上大放异彩

到2023年,现金和国库券将继续成为重要的资产类别,短期存款和国库券将产生近450个基点(bps)。投资者可以选择将现金存入这些工具,以便在一年内进行战术交易。

 

随着美联储继续加息,今年美元收益率将走高。随着全球高收益达到1,000个基点,信贷利差扩大。2s与10s的国债利差将继续倒挂,因为美国可能会在2023年第四季度陷入温和衰退。

 

我们认为,亚洲投资级债券精选和一些优质中国发行人的债券将受益于近期中国经济重新开放和房地产市场政策的变化。主权债券的前景仍然乐观,因为基准利率足够高,可以重新审视政府债券。不过,随着加息周期的结束,长期可能只会在 2023 年下半年企稳下来。目前,我们将保留较短的久期作为保守方法,因为长端曲线暴露了几个可预见的风险,包括来自各国政府的持续供应风险;可能迫使更多加息的通胀风险;人口老龄化降低了储蓄并推高了长期收益率;以及央行剥离债券资产负债表。投资者还可以访问与浮动利率息票挂钩的IG信用交易,这将在利率上升的环境中受益,并且比同等参考实体有所回升。在经历了全球固定收益有记录以来最糟糕的一年之后,2023年或许对债券市场更有利。欧洲IG AT1的价差很有吸引力,而利率波动可能会在短期内持续。高质量固定收益的回报前景似乎更具吸引力,现在购买优质IG名称以锁定未来2年5-6%的年回报率是谨慎的。

 

在未来几年,长端曲线将保持在3%以上,在不确定时期,风险和回报不会很高,特别是对于近年来总是为正的股票和债券相关性。因此,我们看好高等级短期债券。

 

6. 制定游戏规则变更策略,包括重新平衡和重新分配

投资者应重新平衡其固定收益敞口,从高收益债券转向较长期的投资级债券,因为他们在经济衰退期间表现更好。在这种环境下,最好提高投资组合的信贷质量。IG利差在过去一年中翻了一番,为投资组合提供了有吸引力的利差。欧洲IG和美国IG可以考虑与新兴市场主权债券叠加。投资者还应继续配置与市场相关性较低的CTA对冲基金等替代品。

 

对于市场中性的游戏,客户可以考虑2年期票据(席勒指数表现超越标准普尔指数),到期时最少可拿回100%本金。2023年,年初至今席勒指数回报高于标准普尔指数达3.5%。

 

7. 外汇可能成为投资者的嘉年华

美元指数似乎已经见顶,出售美元和瑞士法郎等G8货币的短期看跌期权是有意义的,这些货币可以在一个范围内交易并获得溢价。如果通胀持续到2023年,石油等大宗商品价格将成为赢家之一,尤其是在下半年。

 

人民币汇率将保持稳定,因为它被视为具有稳定利率、经济增长和通货膨胀的替代货币。在最近的走势中,我们看到加元和澳元已经达到了一个支撑位,应该会跑赢除美元和人民币以外的其他货币。

Disclaimer: The content above is for informational purposes only, you should not construe any such information as legal, tax, investment, financial, or other advice. Nothing contained here constitutes a solicitation, recommendation, endorsement, or offer by us or any third party service provider to buy or sell any securities or other financial instruments in this or inᅠin any other jurisdiction in which such solicitation or offer would be unlawful under the securities laws of such jurisdiction. As theᅠcontent is information of a general nature, it does not address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity and does not constitute a comprehensive or complete statement of the matters discussed. You alone assume the sole responsibility of evaluating the merits and risks associated with the use of any information here before making any decisions based on such information.

bottom of page

top of page

Will 2023 be the Year of Recession or Recovery?

Jan 30, 2023 | 6min read

The year 2022 has been challenging for investors. All asset classes suffered with USD30 trillion vanished last year as the global bond market took its largest fall since 1992 (MSCI World index dropped 20% ), with government bonds yield reaching a multiyear high (10 years US treasuries raised from 1.6% to 4.3% ); non-US currencies sinking to a 40-year low; and the global equities market dropping an estimated 20% – 30% by end October 2022.  Against the backdrop of this double-digit drawdown, the optimal outlook for 2023 would be a recovery year for many assets classes like Chinese equities, global bonds, and non-USD forex. For Europe and the US, however, it could still be a year of economic recession. 

 

With so much going on, what are the key trends expected to impact an investor’s decision making? To help investors better navigate the shifting wealth landscape, WRISE has compiled the essential investment considerations that are worth noting for the new year. 

 

7 Essential Investment Considerations for 2023 

 

1. Inflation and recession are inevitable despite central banks pulling out all stops  

Central banks are expected to continue hiking rates to stem inflation, leading to overall tightness in financial conditions and impacting various asset classes, particularly equities. Importantly: The Europe region has reopened earlier than other economies during this mild winter and economic activities have held up relatively well. Together with its liquefied gas and energy subsidies to the US keeping energy prices down, we do not expect Europe to fall into deep recession. The US Federal Reserve (FED) will continue to raise rates to eventually lead the US economy into a recession by the second half of 2023. However, this rate hike cycle may soon end as signs of easing inflation emerge. 

The first half of 2023 would see investors approaching the Chinese market with caution as they monitor the economic impact of China’s reopening. Since end-October 2022, the Chinese government has implemented various policy changes to revitalise the country’s GDP growth. Some of the positive outcomes include the roping in of the central bank, the big four banks, AMCs, and insurance companies to support real estate bond insurances; the revision of zero-Covid policies in favour of economic reopening; and the introduction of more stimulus to keep inflation manageable.  

 

2. Supply chain volatility remains pegged to pandemic and geopolitical challenges  

Uncertainties in the supply chain remain a concern, as global pandemic and geopolitical challenges not only raise commodity prices, but also ripple various issues like material shortages and delivery bottlenecks to all parts of the world. With intra-APAC trade expected to rise in 2033, regional supply chain disruptions could also impact local economies. To reflect a bullish view on oil, we favour Fixed Coupon Note (FCN) with a 9-month tenor on WTI. The client can receive a 12% p.a. coupon for a 100% strike with 60% European knock-in. The client may also consider a 3-month FCN on CNOOC and Occidental Petroleum with 12% p.a. coupon and 81% strike. 

 

3. Asian markets will go on a cautious rebound 

Since November 2022, Asian markets such as China have seen upward momentum that outperformed other markets, and this is expected to continue into 2023. China, in particular, is expected to see better stability in government management, after policies announced at the 20th National Congress of the Chinese Communist Party in October 2022 took effect. We believe Hong Kong equities are a little overshot and expect corrections in February and March. 

 

Investors can enter risk reversal trades on large cap names (via call spread financed by selling OTM puts) to take the exposure. India is another market to allocate for based on fundamentals but would wait for better entry levels. 

 

4. Equities have taken a hit but opportunities remain  

Equities will rally until the first half of Q1 2023, before adjusting on back of weaker earnings and a persistent rate hike from the US FED. We are more bearish in US equities as forward earnings are now priced at an unrealistic 5% decline. This is too little compared to previous crises which declined 10% – 20%. Hence, we expect a bigger adjustment to occur in the Q2-Q3 time frame. Likewise, the global equity market should perform better once the FED decides to halt the rate hike, expected to be around the second half of 2023. 

 

Hong Kong and China are in a better position since revaluation began in end-October 2022. Policies changes and the introduction of more stimuli would support the already oversold equity markets. The recent policy move in property sector might be late for offshore markets, but confidence is being restored and sentiments are improving. The CNY and HKD will remain strong, and more funds are expected to flow from Asia, Europe, and the Middle East, all of which will also support the equity markets. 

 

Investors should continue a tactical overlay via hedges to protect downside via put spreads or OTC puts/calls with barriers to cheapen the option. There are opportunities in the first two quarters to take advantage of entering tactical trades, especially around earnings season, into good quality companies with strong cash flows. Energy, material, and financial companies, as well as large cap technology names, look interesting. 

 

5. Fixed income shines on high grade short duration bonds 

Cash and T-bills would continue to be an important asset class into 2023 where short-term deposits and T-bills are generating close to 450 basis points (bps). Investors can choose to park cash into these instruments with the intent to enter tactical trades during the year. 

The USD yield would go higher this year as the FED continue its rate hike. The spreads of credits have widened as global high yield reached 1,000bps. The 2s vs 10s treasury spread would continue to be inverted as it is likely the US would likely fall into a mild recession in Q4 2023. 

 

We believe that selective Asia investment grade bonds and those from some high-quality Chinese issuers would benefit from the recent changes in Chinese policies for economic reopening and the real estate market. The outlook on sovereign bonds remains positive as the base rate is high enough to revisit government bonds. The long end though, would likely stabilise only in the later part of 2023, with the end of the rate hike cycle. For now, we would keep the shorter duration as a conservative approach as the long end curve exposes several foreseeable risks, including continued supply risk from various governments; inflation risk that could force more rate hikes; the ageing population lowering savings and driving up long end yield; and the central bank offloading bonds balance sheets. Investors can also access IG credit trades linked to floating rate coupon which would benefit in a rising rate environment and has a pickup over equivalent reference entity.  After the worst year on record for global fixed income, 2023 will, perhaps be in more favourable to bonds market. European IG AT1s are coming in at an attractive spread while rates volatility is likely to persist in near term. The returns outlook for high-quality fixed income appears more appealing and it would be prudent to purchase quality IG names now to lock in 5-6% p.a. return for the next 2 years. 

  

In the future years, the long end curve would stay above 3% and risk and reward would not be high in times of uncertainty, particular for the equities and bonds correlations which are always positive in recent years. Hence, we favour high grade short duration bonds. 

 

6. Strategise a game change that includes rebalancing and reallocation 

Investors should rebalance their fixed income exposure to rotate from high yield into longer dated investment grade bonds as they do better during a recession. In this environment, it would be best to improve the credit quality of the portfolio. IG spreads have doubled over the past one year providing attractive carry in portfolios. European IG and US IG can be considered with EM sovereign bonds overlay. Investors should also continue to allocate into alternatives such as CTAs hedge funds with low correlations to markets. 

For market-neutral plays, client can consider the 2-year outperformance note on the Shiller Index over S&P Index with 100% minimum redemption at maturity. The YTD Shiller Index continues to outperform SPX by 3.5% in year 2023. 

 

7. Foreign exchange could emerge as an investor’s playground  

The US Dollar Index seems to have peaked, and it would make sense to sell short term puts on the G8 currencies such as the US dollar and the Swiss franc, which could trade within a range and receive premium. If the inflation drags on through 2023, commodity prices such as oil would emerge as one of the winners, especially in the second half of the year. 

The CNY would remain flat as it is seen as an alternative currency with stable rates, economic growth, and inflation. In the recent flow, we see that the CAD and the AUD have reached a level of support and should outperform other currencies except for the USD and the CNY. 

Disclaimer: The content above is for informational purposes only, you should not construe any such information as legal, tax, investment, financial, or other advice. Nothing contained here constitutes a solicitation, recommendation, endorsement, or offer by us or any third party service provider to buy or sell any securities or other financial instruments in this or inᅠin any other jurisdiction in which such solicitation or offer would be unlawful under the securities laws of such jurisdiction. As theᅠcontent is information of a general nature, it does not address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity and does not constitute a comprehensive or complete statement of the matters discussed. You alone assume the sole responsibility of evaluating the merits and risks associated with the use of any information here before making any decisions based on such information.

bottom of page